A brief bit of house keeping: Gravity Rush Remastered

After I posted the review, the fact that I hadn’t played more of the side missions was stuck in my craw. So I went back and hopped back into Gravity Rush to check some stuff.

The challenge missions have no story tied to them other than some very generic flavor text. The side missions are how the alternate costumes are unlocked. I didn’t mention this in the review, but I had done one of them accidentally. The first maid outfit side mission was very frustrating for me and only resulted in… a maid outfit. Not my cup of tea.

The mission set I went and checked out were the military ones, which do give a little more background on Yunica, the jet pack & mega-buster cyborg girl from the last two missions of the main storyline. But even with that, there isn’t much development. Kat gets a military outfit, Yunica hates you for not being serious-business military or following orders all the time, etc.

There is also a dodge mechanic while floating or falling during a gravity shift, by swiping the touch pad. I only realized this by accidentally touching the swipe pad, and having Kat nearly dodge off a ledge. This said, the dodge mechanic requires being updated to have more ‘charges’ to be able to dodge in succession. Which again, I didn’t upgrade so…it isn’t very helpful.

Even with these updates, my stance stays the same on Gravity Rush. It’s an interesting game idea, but feels weirdly rushed in places, primarily in the story department.

